WRC Men & Masters Win Overall Titles at NWIRA

WRC Masters win overall Master points
WRC Masters win overall Master points

Winnipeg Rowing Club put up a strong battle for the 2014 Lipton Cup at the Northwest International Rowing Association’s Championship Regatta with a mere 8.45 points separating Winnipeg from first place St. Paul in the overall points standing. WRC Men’s crew were awarded the Con Riley Trophy for the second year in a row, which is presented to the club with the most overall points in men’s events. The WRC Masters also took home top honors by earning the most points for all clubs in Masters events.

The 111th annual regatta was held over two days in Kenora, ON on Rabbit Lake. The event had over 500 entries from 13 rowing clubs including Saskatoon, Regina, Winnipeg, Kenora, Thunder Bay, St. Paul, Minneapolis, Duluth, Rochester, Michigan and Long Lake.

Winnipeg crews won 10 gold medals in the following events:

Open Men’s 1x – Kevin Kowalyk
Open Men’s 1x Dash – Kevin Kowalyk
Lwt Women’s 1x – Tracy Taylor
Master Men’s 1x over 50 – Andrew Lamont
Junior B Men’s 2x – Tyrone Nakagawa, Andrje Kao
Open Men’s 2x – Kevin Kowalyk, Josh Ilse
Lwt Women’s 2x – Brandi Smith, Tracy Taylor
Open Men’s 4x – Kevin Kowalyk, Josh Mintz, Steve Chubaty, Tyrone Nakagawa
Master Men’s 4x – Andrew Lamont, Tom Pundyk, Satoru Nakagawa, Jeff Reitberger
Master Men’s 4- Andrew Lamont, Tom Pundyk, Satoru Nakagawa, Jeff Reitberger

Full race results are available here.